Trained Parrot BlogParrot Wizard Online Parrot Toy StoreThe Parrot Forum

Newbie here and need some help asap pls

Discuss the methods and techniques of clicker training, target training and bonding. These are usually the first steps in training a young parrot.

Newbie here and need some help asap pls

Postby nikki1975 » Thu Feb 11, 2010 12:39 pm

Hi my name is Nikki and I just joined today. Joey is my beautiful :cockatoo: I got him last March and for the first wk he was really timid but since then he has been very lovable to all of us until recently lol.

About a month ago or so Joey has started giving me kisses and nuzzling my neck and trying to groom me and pluck my moles off lol and I think started to hump my arm when I hold him.. He has always gotten along well with my husband there for awhile it was like he was more attacked to Kevin then me but this past wk for no reason at all Joey lunged at Kevin and bite him on the cheek and then this morning Joey was on top of his cage and all Kevin did was walk past him and joey started shrieking and lunged on him and bite him on the hand and I grab him and put him back on his cage and not even 5 minds later he heard Kevin in the living room and he flew out of the room and tried attacking him again so now he is in his cage and Kevin says that we may have to get rid of him cuz he will not have a pet that does that for no reason. Kevin has never yelled at Joey or anything like that so I am lost to as why he is doing this unless its cuz he is jealous and doesn't want Kevin by me..

Hoping someone can help me out. Oh yeah the guys that I got him from bought him from the breeder at a yr old and had him for 5 yrs and I have had him for almost a yr now so he going on 7yrs old and his 2 previous owners were males..

Thanks, Nikki and :cockatoo:
nikki1975
Parakeet

Number of Birds Owned: 1
Types of Birds Owned: Goffin Cockatoo
Flight: Yes

Re: Newbie here and need some help asap pls

Postby windharper » Fri Feb 12, 2010 12:34 am