Trained Parrot BlogParrot Wizard Online Parrot Toy StoreThe Parrot Forum

Wing flipping/stretching

Discuss the methods and techniques of clicker training, target training and bonding. These are usually the first steps in training a young parrot.

Wing flipping/stretching

Postby polishbirdiemom » Mon Feb 22, 2010 11:01 pm

I am new to this, and there are a couple behaviors I have questions about. My 7 month old Hahns macaw does this little stretch thing, almost like yoga. He stands on one foot and reaches the other foot way behind him and holds his wing half open, then he switches sides. Is this just a stretch or is is some body language that I am not catching on to? Also, he will get on the side of his cage, turn completely upside down, and flap his wings like crazy for a few seconds then he will squawk quietly, and try to vocalize, and then when I vocalize back to him, he will flip upside down and flip and flap his wings again. He has been with us for 3 days, and was fully flighted proir to being shipped to us. Thank you in advance for any help.
polishbirdiemom
Parakeet

Number of Birds Owned: 1
Types of Birds Owned: Hahn's Macaw
Flight: No

Re: Wing flipping/stretching

Postby Michael » Mon Feb 22, 2010 11:18 pm

All parrots do the stretch and the flapping. It's just like an exercise they do.

As for the clipping, it's a shame that you had it clipped but if you are inexperienced there may have been no other way. Luckily the bird knows how to fly and would probably pick up quickly after the next molt. I highly recommend you look into our flight tricks and freeflight sections to learn more about flying parrots at home.
Michael
Macaw

Number of Birds Owned: 3
Types of Birds Owned: Senegal Parrot, Cape Parrot, Green-Winged Macaw
Flight: Yes

Postby polishbirdiemom » Tue Feb 23, 2010 9:00 am