Trained Parrot BlogParrot Wizard Online Parrot Toy StoreThe Parrot Forum

Taming an IRN

Discuss the methods and techniques of clicker training, target training and bonding. These are usually the first steps in training a young parrot.

Taming an IRN

Postby Sh4ggster » Sun Aug 07, 2016 3:38 pm

I work at a local pet store where somebody returned a n Indian Ringneck because she was 'mean.' Turns out she's downright terrified of humans. I knew she wouldn't be bought any time soon, and she was locked in a tiny cage with no room to exercise. If you went near her, she would fly at the other side of the cage screaming; even if you were only changing her food and water. Feeling pity for her, I ended up buying her and taking her home. Now, she doesn't scream when I go near her, but she does throw herself across the cage to get away from me. I know she won't be tame in a day, but I have no experience taming birds. What would be the best way to go about beginning to tame her?
Sh4ggster
Parakeet

Number of Birds Owned: 1
Types of Birds Owned: Indian Ringneck Parakeet
Flight: No

Re: Taming an IRN

Postby Wolf » Sun Aug 07, 2016 9:08 pm

I just recently answered this very type of question for another member. The only difference was that they had a Quaker parrot instead of an IRN. The process is exactly the same, but there may be a difference in the amount of time that is required at any step in the process. Ringnecks are actually very needy birds and once you have build up their trust you will find that it will still require a lot of one on one time spent with the bird to build and to maintain your relationship with the bird. Here is the link to the other topic where I explain this process, I hope you find it helpful.

viewtopic.php?f=11&t=15840
Wolf
Macaw

Number of Birds Owned: 6
Types of Birds Owned: Senegal
African Grey (CAG)
Yellow Naped Amazon
2Celestial Parrotlet
Budgie
Flight: Yes

Re: Taming an IRN

Postby Pajarita » Mon Aug 08, 2016 10:59 am