Trained Parrot BlogParrot Wizard Online Parrot Toy StoreThe Parrot Forum

GC Conure Hates Cage/ Training to entertain self?

Discuss the methods and techniques of clicker training, target training and bonding. These are usually the first steps in training a young parrot.

GC Conure Hates Cage/ Training to entertain self?

Postby kaijiurocket » Sun Jan 08, 2017 7:12 pm

:gcc:
Hi there!
Newbie here. Very glad to find somewhere I can post concerns and talk to other parrot owners! It's a bit of a relief, if I'm honest.

So here's the rundown. I have only very recently brought home my first green cheek conure just a week ago. So far, so good - the bird, Taako, has it's wings clipped, very well done, and recently passed it's wellness check with flying colours. Only just over 2 months old, so it's gender remains a mystery. Going through hand-taming and Taako is learning very quickly! Except about two days ago, when I went to return Taako to the cage, we didn't want to return. Instead, Taako has taken a liking to hiding under my ponytail better than being in the cage.

While I'm glad Taako has taken to me so quickly, this means whenever I try to get him to spend time in the cage and entertain himself, he stresses and wants to get out instead. He came from a home with lots of siblings, so I understand why he doesn't like being left alone. He's not completely isolated either, can still see and hear us, just can't get out. I'm not really sure where to go from here. He doesn't take an interest in toys, and usually takes about half an hour to settle, at which point he naps (probably tired out). I could entice him with some treats? But I fear once those are depleted the same behaviour would begin. So any suggestions at this point would be greatly appreciated! Thank you in advance.
kaijiurocket
Parakeet

Number of Birds Owned: 1
Types of Birds Owned: Green Check Conure
Flight: No

Re: GC Conure Hates Cage/ Training to entertain self?

Postby Bird woman » Sun Jan 08, 2017 11:04 pm