Trained Parrot BlogParrot Wizard Online Parrot Toy StoreThe Parrot Forum

Jardine or Pionus or Caique as the new parrot to adopt?

Macaws, Cockatoos, Greys, Poicephalus, Conures, Lovebirds, Parrotlets, Parakeets etc. Discuss topics related to specific species of parrots and their characteristics, mutations, pros, and cons.

Jardine or Pionus or Caique as the new parrot to adopt?

Postby HyumWakdu » Sun Sep 15, 2019 1:58 pm

Hello! I am a person who raises parrots in Korea. In Korea, not many people have large or rare parrots, so I sign up for information and write the first words. But I am not good at English, so I wrote the original text in Korean, translated it into Google, and modified the text a little. There may be a lot of errors. Please don't be offended by my poor English.

I'm thinking of adopting a new parrot, but I can't decide which species to choose. I'm still searching for Jardine, Pionus and Caique parrot, but I haven't found any difference that will help me decide one of the three.

I know that personality is really important to parrots. We're still collecting a lot of information, but there's too much conflicting information. So I would like to ask a question to anyone who can generalize a species based on experience.

Pionus: I've heard that they're known to be very docile and afraid. According to the information on the Internet, Pionus are lazy and less greedy. They are curious, but often say they tend to be independent and focused on their own business. I've heard that some people don't like to have contact with people around them or talk to them, and that they smell something that they might not like.