Trained Parrot BlogParrot Wizard Online Parrot Toy StoreThe Parrot Forum

Help please :))

Macaws, Cockatoos, Greys, Poicephalus, Conures, Lovebirds, Parrotlets, Parakeets etc. Discuss topics related to specific species of parrots and their characteristics, mutations, pros, and cons.

Help please :))

Postby jackmcgilligan » Mon Aug 17, 2020 2:14 am

Hey everyone!

First and foremost, I'm very new to bird-keeping so forgive me if I say something wrong.

I have been looking at getting a pet bird for the past month or so. I've done a lot of research and I'm confident that I'm able to look after a bird and keep it safe and happy. The only problem is, I'm not sure what kind I should get!

I hope I'm not asking too much, but these would be my requirements (though they are flexible, as I know I can't be overly picky)

- Relatively quiet. I don't mind chirping and the like, but I'm not a fan of screaming and constant repetitive loud noises.
- Not overly difficult to look after. As I said, I'm very new to this, so an easy to look after breed would be great.
- I can hand tame it, and have it sit on my shoulder/carry it on my hand/etc.
- This is definitely not a hard requirement, but talking would be a bonus :)

Also, sorry if this is the wrong section to put this under.

Thanks to everyone in advance for all your help! :))
jackmcgilligan
Parakeet

Number of Birds Owned: 0
Flight: Yes

Re: Help please :))

Postby Pajarita » Mon Aug 17, 2020 9:03 am

Hi, Jack, welcome to the forum and thank you for doing research before you make a decision.

Now, I am afraid that your requirements are not easy to meet so I will explain.

- Relatively quiet: Well, budgies and tiels are both relatively quiet.
The budgies do chirp and chatter constantly - and I do mean CONSTANTLY - but they are not loud at all and although some people find this VERY distracting to the point of annoying, I actually like the 'background noise' they make. Budgies are aviary birds and need to be kept in pairs.