Trained Parrot BlogParrot Wizard Online Parrot Toy StoreThe Parrot Forum

Which harness

Discuss topics associated with teaching birds to fly. Training parrots recall flight, target flying, and other flying exercises.

Which harness

Postby Bentley » Sun Sep 30, 2012 6:05 pm

I want to take my little :gcc: outside and maybe on a few day trips out with us
... which harness is best suited for a GCC

i have no experience at all with these things so any advice would be great :thumbsup:
Bentley
Parrotlet

Number of Birds Owned: 1
Types of Birds Owned: Green Cheek Conure
Flight: Yes

Re: Which harness

Postby marie83 » Sun Sep 30, 2012 6:10 pm

Aviator are the safest and most practical for a bird that size as there are no un-necessary clips and they are lightweight. I've had problems with sizing though with the petite being too small and the extra small being too large but most green cheek owners seem to be ok with the petite, my GCC seems to have a large head or I got the one off harness that was made badly.

I still thoroughly reccommend the aviator though despite that.
marie83
Cockatoo

Number of Birds Owned: 2
Types of Birds Owned: Yellow sided Green Cheek Conure
Pineapple Green Cheek Conure

Postby Bentley » Sun Sep 30, 2012 6:15 pm

ok thanks... i'll have a look online for them :thumbsup:

my little guy is only 10/11 weeks old... is he old enough to wear one?? he's a very strong flyer!
Bentley
Parrotlet

Postby marie83 » Sun Sep 30, 2012 6:49 pm

Definitely, the earlier they begin training the more likely they are to accept it. at 10/11 weeks Rio should be adult sized or very close to it. Have a look at Michaels harness training guide if you haven't already, its much better than the dvd that comes with the harness.