Trained Parrot BlogParrot Wizard Online Parrot Toy StoreThe Parrot Forum

Trick training.

Exchange information about how to teach specific tricks to parrots. Most of these techniques should apply to all bird species. Share your success stories.

Trick training.

Postby Rspengel » Tue Jun 24, 2014 3:11 am

Regarding trick training must I teach my bird one trick at a time until she masters it before I move on to the next or may I work on one then later work on another. Ex. Wave trick in the morning then laying on back in the afternoon or evening
Rspengel
Parakeet

Number of Birds Owned: 2
Types of Birds Owned: Green wing macaw. Double yellow amazon
Flight: No

Re: Trick training.

Postby Wolf » Tue Jun 24, 2014 5:21 am

To be honest, I have never tried to do this with a bird. The reason that I have never tried this with a bird is to avoid confusion, but you know, after considering it, I am not sure who I was trying to prevent the confusion in.
I am still relatively new to training birds, my area of expertise is actually horse training. I know that not only is it possible to train horses in the manner that you suggest, but in some cases it can be quite effective to do so.
Based on this, I would surmise that it is quite possible, although I am not sure as to whether it is something that I would recommend to anyone and probably not to inexperienced owners training their birds.
Interesting question though, thank you for asking it.
Wolf
Macaw

Number of Birds Owned: 6
Types of Birds Owned: Senegal
African Grey (CAG)
Yellow Naped Amazon
2Celestial Parrotlet
Budgie
Flight: Yes

Postby marie83 » Wed Jun 25, 2014 4:52 pm

I would honestly say it depends on the bird and also your experience with training. I would play it by ear to start with and stick to one thing at a time. As you get familar with how your bird learns then you could consider doing 2 simple tricks, if that goes well maybe a couple of slightly harder ones.