Trained Parrot BlogParrot Wizard Online Parrot Toy StoreThe Parrot Forum

Companion Bird ?'s

Chat about general parrot care and parrot owner lifestyle. Bird psychology, activities, trimming, clipping, breeding etc.

Companion Bird ?'s

Postby BJP » Thu Jun 17, 2010 9:57 pm

Hello Everyone,

This will be my first post on here. I have a few questions. I purchased Samantha(Sam for short) from a local pet store when she was younger roughly 4 months old. She is coming up on here 2nd birthday now. Just to give you a brief idea of her personality and her environment.

I'm looking to see if purchasing another female brown-headed as a companion would be a good idea?

Her and I get along really well with no issues. She is tame and very stubborn(like her owner). However, when I first met her at the store, she was the wildest, crazy, mean, aggressive bird in the store ( I think she was neglected).
I'm a materials engineer, I work from 8-5 most days besides the weekends. So with her being so young, and me being the only one around for the most part she has became pretty much a "one person bird". Her and I have gotten into the routine of her going outside in the mornings wether it be for breakfast or relaxing on the deck with a cup of coffee. We have a tree on our deck for which she absolutely goes crazy to get me to let her play in. So she gets her way.

My girlfriend has been trying to work with Sam to get her off of her "one person bird attitude" however it doesn't seem to be going well. She has shown some aggression towards my mom when she stops over the reason for this we believe is that my mother got herself associated with the vacuum cleaner which Sam is deathly afraid of. She doesn't bite me; however,she does enjoy chewing on my finger(she has plenty of toys....).