Trained Parrot BlogParrot Wizard Online Parrot Toy StoreThe Parrot Forum

Help from Large Parrot Owners?

Share ideas for making your own parrot toys. What are the best things for parrots to play with? Show pictures of parrots with toys.

Help from Large Parrot Owners?

Postby goffins2015 » Sat Jun 13, 2015 5:29 am

Hi everyone. I am an undergraduate student doing work on cockatoo play behaviour. I will be working with 12 hand-reared individuals in a lab but will have very limited time so I don't think I will be able to do pilot testing. So I would like to know if parrot owners (specifically Goffin cockatoos if possible) could let me know what their parrots' attention span is like, playing with a single simple toy (eg. a parrot safe wooden cube). I need to have a general idea of how long it will interest them for and how much that varies between individuals. If you could provide videos of the bird playing so I can look at the behavioural patterns that would be awesome too. Thanks!
:cockatoo:
goffins2015
Parakeet

Number of Birds Owned: 0
Flight: Yes

Re: Help from Large Parrot Owners?

Postby liz » Sat Jun 13, 2015 6:21 am

You have birds in a lab?
liz
Macaw

Number of Birds Owned: 12
Types of Birds Owned: DYH Amazon Rambo
BF Amazon Myrtle
Cockatiels: Shadow Tammy Flutter Phoenix Jackie
Andy Impy Louise Twila Leroy

Postby goffins2015 » Sat Jun 13, 2015 7:20 am

I don't but a very respectable university works with birds in a large aviary. Birds are voluntarily called into the lab for experimental procedures they enjoy and collaborate with (nothing is forced upon them). They are not trained to do tricks and food/water is provided ad libidum. So for them it's more of a play area than a lab, really. :)

Here is a hand-reared New Caledonian crow in a lab under similar circumstances:
https://youtu.be/ZerUbHmuY04
goffins2015
Parakeet

Postby liz » Sat Jun 13, 2015 5:57 pm

Crows are so smart.