Trained Parrot BlogParrot Wizard Online Parrot Toy StoreThe Parrot Forum

Birdie backpacks

Share ideas for making your own parrot toys. What are the best things for parrots to play with? Show pictures of parrots with toys.

Birdie backpacks

Postby Strawfrawg » Mon Feb 18, 2013 2:53 pm

I have a deposit on a Senegal chick that I will be bringing home in March, and I'm busying myself buying all manner of "stuff" for my new baby. I'm an avid walker, and have been thinking about getting a bird backpack so I can take my bird with me. They cost a bit, so I'm gathering data before making a purchase. Does anybody here have experience with bird backpacks? Does your bird enjoy it?
Marvin Beakman - DNA sexed male Senegal
Strawfrawg
Conure

Number of Birds Owned: 1
Types of Birds Owned: Senegal Parrot
Flight: Yes

Re: Birdie backpacks

Postby marie83 » Mon Feb 18, 2013 3:28 pm

I have no direct experience with them but I saw a few birds being carried around in them at the think parrots show last year. The birds didn't seem to mind them but the owners seemed to forget they had parrots on their backs and kept bending over to look at stuff knocking the birds off of the perches :(
I'm sure your sennie would be fine in one with training. If you dont walk for long distances have you considered a harness?
marie83
Cockatoo

Number of Birds Owned: 2
Types of Birds Owned: Yellow sided Green Cheek Conure
Pineapple Green Cheek Conure

Postby Strawfrawg » Mon Mar 04, 2013 11:12 am

My area has some very bold raptors, so a harness is out. It's a shame because I'd like to be able to use one for shorter walks.

I found a pack that sits on the shoulder (see image)...supposedly it's better for the bird psychologically because he can still see his parent for security. I plan to go with one of those, though it will look a little weird!
Attachments
backpack.JPG
backpack.JPG (40.08 KiB) Viewed 11403 times
Strawfrawg
Conure

Postby Michael » Mon Mar 04, 2013 2:00 pm