Trained Parrot BlogParrot Wizard Online Parrot Toy StoreThe Parrot Forum

New and needing help

New to the parrot forum? Introduce yourself and your flock to us.

New and needing help

Postby Skeeterz12 » Sat Jun 11, 2016 1:22 pm

Hello. I'm very new to having a parrot and excited but I need help. I'm not sure what kind of Parrot I have. While outside we heard some squawking and we looked up and some robins was attacking this parrot. We climbed on the roof and placed a dog cage up there and it climbed in. We posted signs around town and online but no one clammed him. Which is good for us because I have always wanted one anyways. i've tried to look online for any info I can find to help us take care of it. Not sure how to tell its gender, Heard you can only tell by blood test. We have purchased a large cage, and some toys to keep it busy. the problem we are having is that we cant really get it out of the cage. From what I can find online so far, offer it a treat and a hand to climb on. That is not working so far. We cant find what it likes so far. It will take what we offer and drop it then give a warning bite. I try not to go to fast or to slow. I'm not showing fear because I'm not scared of a bite. At that point I leave him alone because i don't want to scare him more. any help would be greatly appreciated. i would like to add a picture also but i don't know how yet.

David.
Skeeterz12
Parakeet

Number of Birds Owned: 1
Types of Birds Owned: Green parrot (unknown type)
Flight: No

Re: New and needing help

Postby liz » Sun Jun 12, 2016 7:05 am

Let him have time to watch you without you watching him. To him you are scary and needs time to get used to you and your voice.
Read to him. Talk to him about what is on TV. Make yourself available for him to watch and learn.
liz
Macaw

Number of Birds Owned: 12
Types of Birds Owned: DYH Amazon Rambo
BF Amazon Myrtle
Cockatiels: Shadow Tammy Flutter Phoenix Jackie
Andy Impy Louise Twila Leroy
Flight: Yes