Trained Parrot BlogParrot Wizard Online Parrot Toy StoreThe Parrot Forum

New Parrotlet owner

New to the parrot forum? Introduce yourself and your flock to us.

New Parrotlet owner

Postby Gale&Yogi » Tue Sep 06, 2016 1:58 am

I was looking for a Parrotlet and googled it. I found some on kijiji locally and saw this 3 yr old male and some young ones. Something drew me to the 3 yr old, and despite his complete untameness and no training, something told me to take him. The breeder had given him to her grown son, and he kept this poor boy in a cage with stale water and a huge dish of seeds. The breeder sold him while he was at college to the lady I got him from. She had him for about 6 months and tried to take him but gave up.

I am a dog trainer that uses only positive reinforcement.

Right now, Yogi is confined to his training cage until he is desensitized to me. I let him come out of the cage at times, and I crate one of my dogs who thinks he is a toy. My other dog, a very soft and tolerant 14 yr old cavalier likes him but finds Yogi pushy. So does my Ragdoll cat, but she likes him, and it appears that Yogi likes her because when she gets up on the table where his cage is, he goes belly to the cage right where she is.

I hope he gets desensitized soon so that I can start taming and training him. I intend to leave his flight feathers long then, and let him out of his big cage often, but only when he has learned to come to me and step up onto my finger and more. I used to do agility with my dogs and would love to see Yogi do bird agility.

One thing is guaranteed though, I WILL NOT GIVE UP ON YOGI.
Gale&Yogi
Parrotlet

Number of Birds Owned: 4
Types of Birds Owned: Parrotlet (recently deceased), 1 male and 1 female GCC, 1 male Quaker and 1 male moustache parakeet, and a deceased IRN
Flight: No

Re: New Parrotlet owner

Postby Gale&Yogi » Tue Sep 06, 2016 2:00 am

Should have been tame not take. iPhone auto correct :roll:
Gale&Yogi
Parrotlet