Trained Parrot BlogParrot Wizard Online Parrot Toy StoreThe Parrot Forum

Hello everyone

New to the parrot forum? Introduce yourself and your flock to us.

Hello everyone

Postby ahammer26 » Sun Jan 08, 2017 5:47 pm

Hello everyone I am new here, thank in advance for all the help, and I have been taking care of my grandmothers green winged macaw, yellow naped Amazon parrot, cockatiel, and lovebird. Which I found out when she passes I will be getting her birds and I am trying to get them used to me I am new to parrots all together I so far have changed there food to something healthier but my grandmother has let the macaw get aggressive she won't listen to me and she strikes at her cage alot and I have a hard time feeding her due to she is always trying to bite me then the yellow naped Amazon parrot has only one leg cuz she escaped one day I guess and the macaw bit it off I give her alittle more treatment but she bites too she won't bite my grandmother though. Her cockatiel is very old and used to be a breeding cockatiel she used to breed and sell them it plucks it's feathers out and won't let me even handle it it just freaks out and her lovebird she just got less then a year ago has never been hand held she is super afraid of the macaw because the macaw has gone on top of its cage before trying to get into its cage. It alot of stress to be dumped on me and my grandmother has no idea how to teach me how to take care of the birds any ideas suggestions would help. I already plan to have my father help me do the macaws nails since the macaw semi listens to him. Like I said thank you everyone and thank you for this group and add and any ideas/suggestions
ahammer26
Parakeet

Number of Birds Owned: 4
Types of Birds Owned: Green winged macaw, yellow naped Amazon parrot, cockatiel, lovebird
Flight: No

Re: Hello everyone

Postby Wolf » Sun Jan 08, 2017 7:36 pm