Trained Parrot BlogParrot Wizard Online Parrot Toy StoreThe Parrot Forum

Bird behaviour change

New to the parrot forum? Introduce yourself and your flock to us.

Bird behaviour change

Postby Kingy » Wed Jan 11, 2017 12:22 am

Hi everybody
I'm new to this , I've got 3 birds
Long billed corella , blue and gold macaw and sun conure
My long bill is causing us some concern , he was the best bird , would interact with everyone , talk , ask for a kiss , yell out oi come here , his words go on and on , over time though he now sits at the back of his cage , won't talk , won't come to anyone other than my 11 year old son now , if go to pick him he shakes , and cowers , same with my daughter , we have no idea what's going on , he still has his stupid moments like his flapping and squawking 3 times a day , lives the hose , but be buggered if he'll to come to me anymore
He's slowly coming for a scratch , but that's taken me hour a day for 2 months
He's just changed , he's almost 5 now
Anyone else dealt with this kind of behaviour ?
Any tips or ideas ?

Macaw and conure are fine and still go to all of us
Kingy
Parakeet

Number of Birds Owned: 3
Types of Birds Owned: Blue and gold macaw
Long billed corella
Sun conure
Flight: Yes

Re: Bird behaviour change

Postby Wolf » Wed Jan 11, 2017 6:37 am

The first things that I do if any of my birds behaviors change suddenly are to take the bird to the vet as any change in behavior could be an indication of illness, these changes could be subtle or they could be highly noticeable ones such as you are describing, it is always best to rule out any medical reasons as soon as possible as this may save your birds life.