Trained Parrot BlogParrot Wizard Online Parrot Toy StoreThe Parrot Forum

Hello I'm new and I need advice

New to the parrot forum? Introduce yourself and your flock to us.

Hello I'm new and I need advice

Postby Deathrosez » Tue Jun 20, 2017 5:50 pm

Hi, my name is Paige and I'm new to this, I've owned several birds in the past and I'm getting back into it but I sort of have a problem, I'm getting a handed down blue and gold macaw, she was raised by a grandmother in our family and she's only 21 years old and her name is Gabby, I'm afraid that the grandmother isn't going to live past this year and Gabby is really attached and I'm not sure how she's going to handle the passing of the grandmother so I need some advice on how to help Gabby with the stress that she is going to face, it's going to be a rough time for Gabby and i want to do everything in my power to make her comfortable, any advice you can give me?
Deathrosez
Parakeet

Number of Birds Owned: 1
Types of Birds Owned: Blue and gold macaw
Flight: Yes

Re: Hello I'm new and I need advice

Postby Bird woman » Tue Jun 20, 2017 9:46 pm

Are you able to spend time with gabby? If so then it would be so smart to start working with the bird now and develope a relationship. I just rehomed a 40 yr. old macaw from an owner that had him for 35 years and it was not a problem but the new home was way better than the old one. BW
Bird woman
Amazon

Number of Birds Owned: 10
Types of Birds Owned: 2 mollucans, 2 LSC'S, 2 macaws, 1 bare-eye, 1 grey, 1 goffin and max the quaker

Postby Deathrosez » Tue Jun 20, 2017 10:23 pm

Sadly I'm not able to spend time with Gabby, she lives 6 to 8 hours away, I've only met her once :/ she's beautiful with a great personality but she's also shy around strangers, I would like to spend more time with her but it's such a great distance to visit :/
Deathrosez
Parakeet

Postby Pajarita » Wed Jun 21, 2017 9:34 am