Trained Parrot BlogParrot Wizard Online Parrot Toy StoreThe Parrot Forum

Hello all. First large bird. Need some advice please

New to the parrot forum? Introduce yourself and your flock to us.

Hello all. First large bird. Need some advice please

Postby Mo_Hillbilly » Sat Dec 02, 2017 2:27 am

I apologize for the length of this post. I'm new to this. Both raising parrots and being in a forum.

So, I just got my first large parrot. I've owned cockatiels previously but nothing like Chewy. She is an umbrella cockatoo that is 13 yrs old. I'm the guy that always wanted to own a large bird but knew I didn't have time to do this properly. I now have the time to commit to doing it right and a friend had to find a place for her cockatoo because of health problems. She told me Chewy had "issues". She had her for about 3 years. So,, being a patient man and having time (as I stated earlier) I figured I could help my friend out and realize my dream. Win Win right?
The first week was a steep learning curve. My friend informed me that the people she got the bird from would throw a thick blanket over the bird when she became upset with something. My first bite came when I went to change my shirt. As I lifted the shirt up Chewy attacked. She bit me twice before I could retreat. As I said, I am a fairly patient man. I walked out of the room until I composed myself and then I re-entered the room. I was amazed that Chewy was calm, and ready to resume life as usual. She went from calm to crazy and back to calm so fast it was incredible.