Trained Parrot BlogParrot Wizard Online Parrot Toy StoreThe Parrot Forum

Looking to adopt a bird for the first time

New to the parrot forum? Introduce yourself and your flock to us.

Looking to adopt a bird for the first time

Postby LoneSombrero » Thu Jan 31, 2019 6:03 pm

Hello! It's my first time adopting a parrot and I was wondering if I could get some advice! We live in a small one bedroom apartment close to the road so there's lots of road noise and we were looking for a small parrot that is affectionate, not too loud and can do some mimicking. We have limited experience handling parrots and would like to know what's the best type of parrot for our situation. We've looked at Budgies, Cockatiels and Quakers but haven't decided if these are the right ones for us.

Thanks!! :greycockatiel: :gray: :senegal:
LoneSombrero
Parakeet

Number of Birds Owned: 0
Types of Birds Owned: Looking for bird advice and finding the right bird!
Flight: No

Re: Looking to adopt a bird for the first time

Postby Pajarita » Fri Feb 01, 2019 10:40 am

Hi, Lone Sombrero (great name, BTW!), welcome to the forum. The fact that you live close to a road and there is always noise means nothing to a parrot, they don't mind noise at all - the only thing is that the louder the background noise, the louder the bird will vocalize but that's a problem only if you like to play your music at a blasting level :D .

The size of the apartment is no problem either. You will not be able to keep a large bird -like a macaw or a cockatoo- because they need space to fly but any small to medium species will do just fine as long as it has access to the whole apartment -because they also need room to fly.