Trained Parrot BlogParrot Wizard Online Parrot Toy StoreThe Parrot Forum

Diet

New to the parrot forum? Introduce yourself and your flock to us.

Diet

Postby Dooley » Thu Jul 18, 2019 3:21 pm

Hi can anyone help ive got a african grey shes 9 month old ,im confused about what to feed her ,im feeding her a seed mix and pellets and inbetween fruit & veg...do i leave her food out all the time?and am i ment to get her off seed?ive read so much but im not sure again,do i just give her pellets and not seed?
Dooley
Parakeet

Number of Birds Owned: 1
Types of Birds Owned: African grey
Flight: No

Re: Diet

Postby Pajarita » Fri Jul 19, 2019 8:01 am

Hi, Dooley and Gray (you did not tell us his/her name), welcome to the forum.

As to what diet... well, that's pretty much up to you. I suggest you do research on your own about their natural diet in the wild but I would be the first one to admit that this is much easier said than done (and I know because I've been doing it for over 25 years). What I can do is tell you what I have learned and what I feed my own and you can then make your own decision.

As far as I have been able to ascertain, grays are picky eaters so the sooner you start them on a good diet and the more consisten and persistent you are, the better off the bird will be. Going by what I have read, African birds, in general, can consume a bit more protein than South or Central American birds - Australian bird vary, some require very little protein (like tiels, budgies, ekkies, etc) and some can take much more (especially some species of cockatoos).