Trained Parrot BlogParrot Wizard Online Parrot Toy StoreThe Parrot Forum

Looking for Activities African Gray

New to the parrot forum? Introduce yourself and your flock to us.

Looking for Activities African Gray

Postby Averly » Mon Mar 08, 2021 4:47 pm

Hello all.
I have about 6 years experience with budgies and cockatiels. I find myself bird sitting a much larger bird (African Gray) because her family is currently homeless.
I've had her a few weeks and she's fitting right in with the 'pack.' 2 budgies, a cockatiel, 2 dogs and a cat. She has always been a plucker but it seems that she likes it here because she is regrowing her feathers and is looking better and better.
I am currently experiencing how similar she is to a small child. She constantly needs to have something to do to keep her occupied. We are starting to establish our routine. I have a few activities for her to do already. One is me stuffing a ball with torn up paper towels. Its chained to her main perch and she likes to hold it while she grooms and pick at it every now and then. I hide treats in it sometimes. The other activity I do right after that is give her a roll of toilet paper to shred.
I was hoping someone had some more ideas.. I would like to have 2 hours of actual activity time every day and I would like to rotate activities as well. She does not know how to fly but she is allowed free access to the house meaning her cage is almost always open and she can sit on the door or the top of the cage. She also asks to come to us or get on the couch and we let her perch on our finger and get some air under her and let her flap all the way down to the couch lol and yesterday she glided to the floor, I was so proud.
For the record I have a degree in animal behavior and do not reccomend allowing any bird free access to a home with multiple pets. Our situation is very unique.
Averly
Parakeet

Number of Birds Owned: 4
Types of Birds Owned: Budgie
Cockatiel
African Grey
Flight: Yes