Trained Parrot BlogParrot Wizard Online Parrot Toy StoreThe Parrot Forum

Hi from Dubai

New to the parrot forum? Introduce yourself and your flock to us.

Hi from Dubai

Postby Steve_why » Mon Mar 05, 2012 2:13 am

My name is Steve and I am a musician, come sales and marketing manager for a production company, here in Dubai, United Arab Emirates. Just a few days ago, a lovely healthy looking African Grey Parrot, flew into my home, on the 5th floor.

I am a real animal lover, but have never had an African Grey as a pet...and from the last couple of days I have been looking for the owner but no sign of them. So I have decided to keep the little angel and hope I will do my best be make him feel as comfortable as possible.

I am open to suggestions and help, but just a few questions.

1 ) How long can it stay alone. I go to work in the morning and come back at 6pm, would that be ok?
I change his food and water in the night before I sleep and again when I come home.

2 ) I am so afraid of touching him, in case he is in a bad mood and bits me...can anyone help me
with that?

3 ) He is in a medium size cage, its is okie for him to be in it, or am i required to keep him out?
His cage does have an opening on the top and am planning of keeping it open when I am at
home.

4 ) I have learnt that the AG has a lot of nuts, almonds, peanuts etc...and fruits such as Banana,
water melons, apples ( Without the seed ), is there anything else I can feed it, apart from the
regular bird food that I purchased at the local store. The regular food has all the Vitamins and
proteins in it, but I thought I would give it a little more.

5 ) The Parrot talks, but only when no one is looking at it...its too cute...craves for attention but
does not talk when I am talking to it...It says words like Hello, Wake up and some other words
I can understand right now.

I know I have too many question, please I would really appreciate some help and I am new to this and don't want the poor guy to be sad.