Trained Parrot BlogParrot Wizard Online Parrot Toy StoreThe Parrot Forum

Parrot Diet & Nutrition Therapy . . .

Talk about bird illnesses and other bird health related issues. Seeds, pellets, fruits, vegetables and more. Discuss what to feed your birds and in what quantity. Share your recipe ideas.

Parrot Diet & Nutrition Therapy . . .

Postby NJBirdMan » Sun Oct 30, 2016 7:03 am

I am exhausted and have a Migraine just reading site after site, article after article, post after post on Parrot Nutrition. It's not only confusing, but it's exhausting. As a Nurse, I'm beginning
to think that it should not be this complicated - but we do the same thing with Nutrition for humans too. We complicate everything. There are always millions of opinions from people regarding what Birds should be eating. I have not yet jumped on the "Pellet Band Wagon" - Heck,
my own two Gouldian finches won't even touch Roudybush pellets, so how can I expect a Senegal
Parrot (which I will be getting in the Spring/2017) to eat the stuff?
The controversy is just to wide. I'm doing as much reading as I possibly can between now and Spring regarding Senegal ownership, and of course Diet and Nutrition is my utmost concern.
But for today, I just know that outside there are no 'pellets' on the ground for the birds to eat
and I really don't happen to think they are 100% complete nutrition that all the manufacturers
say they are.
Patrick
NJBirdMan
Lovebird

Number of Birds Owned: 3
Types of Birds Owned: 2 Male Gouldian Finches, 1 Female Senegal Parrot
Flight: Yes

Re: Parrot Diet & Nutrition Therapy . . .

Postby Pajarita » Sun Oct 30, 2016 11:41 am