Trained Parrot BlogParrot Wizard Online Parrot Toy StoreThe Parrot Forum

housing for wild parrots?

Bird rooms, aviaries, cages, foraging trees, play gyms, and stands. Discuss your parrot's locations and perches.

housing for wild parrots?

Postby hankskorpio » Wed May 20, 2015 12:29 pm

We have parrots living on our street in Southern California - I'm no expert, but I they look like either the mitred or red-masked parakeet on this website (http://www.californiaparrotproject.org/id_guide.html). We love the birds, even when they eat the fruit off our fruit trees. My concern is that they nest in hollow rotten branches of old street trees, and the old trees are slowly being replaced by the city with smaller trees, eliminating their nesting area.

Does anyone have suggestions on how to build an outdoor "bird house" that would attract wild parrots? Do you have any suggestions on bird feeders for wild parrots?

Thanks!
hankskorpio
Parakeet

Number of Birds Owned: 0
Flight: Yes

Re: housing for wild parrots?

Postby Wolf » Wed May 20, 2015 7:51 pm

For a nest box it needs to be a vertical box 12" X 12" X18" with probably a 3 1/2" to 4" hole in the upper portion of the front and a 5/8" perch. For a feeder I would guess that just about any untreated wood surface of 12 inches square would work. Probably be safest to make it from white pine or fir.
Wolf
Macaw

Number of Birds Owned: 6
Types of Birds Owned: Senegal
African Grey (CAG)
Yellow Naped Amazon
2Celestial Parrotlet
Budgie

Postby Pajarita » Thu May 21, 2015 10:54 am

And you don't really need a bird feeder, a platform with food on it is perfect.
Pajarita
Norwegian Blue

Number of Birds Owned: 30
Types of Birds Owned: RoseBreasted too, CAG, DoubleYellowHead Amazon, BlueFront Amazon, YellowNape Amazon, Senegal, African Redbelly, Quaker, Sun Conure, Nanday, BlackCap Caique, WhiteBelly Caique, PeachFace lovebird, budgies,

Postby Birds are loud » Tue Jul 28, 2015 11:14 am