Trained Parrot BlogParrot Wizard Online Parrot Toy StoreThe Parrot Forum

lighting

Bird rooms, aviaries, cages, foraging trees, play gyms, and stands. Discuss your parrot's locations and perches.

lighting

Postby Kakariki » Sat Aug 08, 2015 3:13 pm

I took a video but am still unable to even get them on my laptop from my camera, let alone upload it. tried to do it from my cell phone too, I am just a tech dummy.

The ''bird area' is approx. 11x18 feet with an additional 9x9 area which forms an 'L' shape. The only natural sourses of light are a 5 foot patio glass door and a window that is about 3x4 feet. Is this suitable for them to have a good solar rhythm?
Kakariki
Conure

Number of Birds Owned: 7
Types of Birds Owned: Green Cheek Conure; Sun Conure; Kakariki; 2 budgies. 2 ringnecks
Flight: Yes

Re: lighting

Postby Wolf » Sat Aug 08, 2015 4:59 pm

Well as far as the light from the twilight periods of dawn and dusk it should work fine, but if you are thinking about the vitamin D-3 that they produce from sunshine no window is any good as they all block out the UV light, you need to take the bird outside to get that benefit and that takes about 20 minutes.
Wolf
Macaw

Number of Birds Owned: 6
Types of Birds Owned: Senegal
African Grey (CAG)
Yellow Naped Amazon
2Celestial Parrotlet
Budgie

Postby Pajarita » Sun Aug 09, 2015 10:19 am

Yes, it is as long as the cages are placed near the source of natural light. But, Wolf is right, it's good for exposure to dawn and dusk but no window, door or anything no matter how many there are or how big works for the vit D3 production if they have regular glass on them.
Pajarita
Norwegian Blue

Number of Birds Owned: 30
Types of Birds Owned: RoseBreasted too, CAG, DoubleYellowHead Amazon, BlueFront Amazon, YellowNape Amazon, Senegal, African Redbelly, Quaker, Sun Conure, Nanday, BlackCap Caique, WhiteBelly Caique, PeachFace lovebird, budgies,

Postby Kakariki » Sun Aug 09, 2015 11:10 am