Trained Parrot BlogParrot Wizard Online Parrot Toy StoreThe Parrot Forum

Parrot toys? Feather plucking bird! :(

Bird rooms, aviaries, cages, foraging trees, play gyms, and stands. Discuss your parrot's locations and perches.

Parrot toys? Feather plucking bird! :(

Postby Edmcq198 » Mon Aug 10, 2015 10:15 am

I have an African grey parrot that is 9 years old..

Recently he has started plucking his feathers sadly. He had some toys in his cage but not many so I've gone on a haul and bought some boredom breakers including lots of rope and soft wood as I know he likes to chew these.

But how many toys is too many as I don't want to overcrowd my bird???

P.s. The bird is 9 but I haven't owned him for that long, so I'm fairly new to this.

Help appreciated.
Last edited by Edmcq198 on Mon Aug 10, 2015 11:31 am, edited 1 time in total.
Edmcq198
Parakeet

Number of Birds Owned: 1
Types of Birds Owned: Timneh African grey
Flight: Yes

Re: how many parrot toys?

Postby Edmcq198 » Mon Aug 10, 2015 11:30 am

I should probably add that the cage is 3ft long, 3ft wide and about 5ft tall with a perch on the top aswell (unsure if cage dimensions will affect his boredom). and he's never locked in his cage and is free to fly around at all times.
Edmcq198
Parakeet

Re: Parrot toys? Feather plucking bird! :(

Postby Wolf » Mon Aug 10, 2015 12:44 pm

I think that we need to know about your birds daily routine starting with the time it gets up in the morning, what and when it eats what, what it does all day long, including how much interaction it has with you and how you interact when and what it has for dinner and when it goes to sleep, Also is this bird clipped or not. That should give us enough information to start to figure out what is going on. When was this birds last check up. I am thinking that it is not clipped as you said it was free to fly about.
Wolf
Macaw

Number of Birds Owned: 6
Types of Birds Owned: Senegal
African Grey (CAG)
Yellow Naped Amazon
2Celestial Parrotlet