Trained Parrot BlogParrot Wizard Online Parrot Toy StoreThe Parrot Forum

Conure progress jornal

Discuss the methods and techniques of clicker training, target training and bonding. These are usually the first steps in training a young parrot.

Conure progress jornal

Postby muffin-the-conure » Mon Mar 07, 2011 4:24 pm

Hi guys
I have a green cheeked conure who is nearly 3. :gcc: she is loving and great to have in the family.

I got her when i was 6 months old she was hand reared so I could take her out of her cage and sit her on my arm. That was it.

After a year I stopped taking her out of her cage due to a reason (I can not say). So 6 months passed without her coming out. So our bond was broken. Quite sad I know.

So after those 6 months I realized I was doing wrong. So I started talking to her, feeding her through out the cage and touching her feet. So 2 months ago I tried to get her out of her cage after some convincing she came out and sat on my arm. I started training her and I also bought her a parrot nappy and harness. So now 2 months on she sits on my fingers and flies around and plays catch. She has also started to fly allot more than she did she flies to my sister who is now 12. and flies back. She will sit on other people arms and is willing to learn more. She has learnt to sit on her back in my hands and wave only when i touch her right foot.

My problem is I cant put my hand in her cage and take she out. I have to wait until she comes out and climes to the top of she cage. I then have to put a towel on her to put her flight suite on. she then is fine and will be fine. How do i change this.

I have some other problems but i can only remember 2 at the moment. So when I remember I will post the here.