Trained Parrot BlogParrot Wizard Online Parrot Toy StoreThe Parrot Forum

Extremely impressed with clicker training

Exchange information about how to teach specific tricks to parrots. Most of these techniques should apply to all bird species. Share your success stories.

Extremely impressed with clicker training

Postby Andromeda » Mon Feb 27, 2012 10:54 am

I'm new to clicker training but not new to owning birds. I have a brown-headed parrot who's been with me for 3 1/2 years and a GCC who's been with me for 3.

I never tried to train either one of them until 6 days ago. Here's how things went with my GCC (moving at his pace):

Day 1: He learns that "click" means treat
Day 2: He learns to target a stick
Day 3: He learns to move in a circle by following the target stick
Day 4: He learns to move in a circle by following my finger instead of the target stick
Day 5: He learns to move in a circle with no hand signal on the cue word "circle"

I can't believe that 6 days ago he didn't know any tricks and had never heard a clicker and now he will follow the target stick and turn in a circle when you say "circle." I even tested his circle trick with my husband and he will also turn in a circle when he gives the verbal cue!

Things are progressing more slowly with my brown-headed parrot but he's less tame than my GCC so I expected that to be the case. He knows how to target and I'm teaching him to move in a circle by following the target stick.

What's great is that my GCC seems to love training as much as I do. Yesterday when he was doing circles he'd do a circle and then wag his tail as soon as I clicked---even before I gave him a treat!

I think my brown-headed parrot likes it, too, but he's more low-key and harder to read.

I'm so glad that I have a new way of interacting with my birds and this forum and Michael's videos and blog have been such a great resource. :-)