Trained Parrot BlogParrot Wizard Online Parrot Toy StoreThe Parrot Forum

Microchipping and alternatives

Chat about general parrot care and parrot owner lifestyle. Bird psychology, activities, trimming, clipping, breeding etc.

Microchipping and alternatives

Postby Grey_Moon » Sat Mar 12, 2011 4:46 pm

Since I'm moving out (and what with me being a student I forsee many more moves in short time frames) I'm debating getting Jacko microchipped.

I want to do this because he is flighted and because I do take him outdoors. Also, living in an apartment in the city (in a cheaper area) makes me nervous for their safety. It is some assurance that if I ever lose him due to an accident or to theft I have a way to prove he is mine and a bigger chance to get him back.

My question is now what to do about my cockatiel because I have the same concerns for him but he is not big enough to microchip safely (it would also be much more expensive because he would have to be put under in order to insert it under the muscle). With all that in mind I don't want to take the chance but I still need a way of identifying him...he has no leg band.
I'm hoping that perhaps his distinctive foot (he is missing an entire toenail) would be enough to prove he is mine....but I doubt it. He also makes distinctive calls that I know well....but I don't think any of this would be enough in court.

Any ideas?
:gray: ---Jacko (13 year old TAG rescue and my little turkey-bird girl :) )

"Love me, Love my parrots"
Grey_Moon
Poicephalus

Number of Birds Owned: 1
Types of Birds Owned: Hen Timneh Grey
Flight: Yes

Re: Microchipping and alternatives

Postby patdbunny » Sat Mar 12, 2011 4:55 pm

Take very specific pictures of your tiel from all angles including close ups of his feet. Video record him performing the unique whistle.
Roz

There are in nature neither rewards nor punishments — there are only consequences. Robert G. Ingersoll
patdbunny
Amazon

Number of Birds Owned: 30