Trained Parrot BlogParrot Wizard Online Parrot Toy StoreThe Parrot Forum

Learning to be a Bird Mom

New to the parrot forum? Introduce yourself and your flock to us.

Learning to be a Bird Mom

Postby BirdbrainJan » Thu Jun 17, 2010 10:41 pm

Hi all!

I'm very new to the world of birds, and do not have one yet...but I'm researching all I can! It's been fascinating reading through all of your posts and learning even more about the different species, and what you like about them.

I'm excited about adding an avian member to my family, but since I don't have any previous bird experience, I'm wondering if I really should start with something like a budgie. I've read a few opinions on here about "starter birds", but after doing lots of research and reading, I'm leaning towards possibly a green-cheeked conure...

I'm interested to hear more from those of you who have conures, green-cheeked in particular. Do they really tend to be quieter than some of the other conures, like the Jendays? How bossy/nippy are they, and does this really decrease with proper trick training and interaction? Those of you that love Senegals, would you ever recommend them to someone with no bird experience, but who is willing to learn all they can?

I'd definitely be open to some other suggestions or feedback on starting out in the world of birds! I've e-mailed the owner of a local parrot rescue group too, to see if I can chat with him and go out there to spend some time with different types of birds.

Thanks!

~Janice
BirdbrainJan
Cockatiel

Number of Birds Owned: 1
Types of Birds Owned: Green Cheeked Conure
Flight: No

Re: Learning to be a Bird Mom

Postby pchela » Thu Jun 17, 2010 11:04 pm

My first bird was a Senegal and I knew nothing about birds. He inspired me to learn as much as I could and I love him! I would say a Senegal would be a good bird for somebody who has researched and knows what they are getting into.