Trained Parrot BlogParrot Wizard Online Parrot Toy StoreThe Parrot Forum

Hello from BC, Canada

New to the parrot forum? Introduce yourself and your flock to us.

Hello from BC, Canada

Postby pyrrhuraphile » Sat Aug 21, 2010 3:40 am

I only have a Green Cheeked Conure right now, as my 2 year old Crimson Bellied Conure died recently. He was only two, but had developed a mass on his digestive system which we didn't discover in time. My GCC, Charlie, is 13, so I was surprised to lose my CBC so early, to say the least.

I am a clicker trainer, but not very good at it because I haven't been very disciplined. Even so, my CBC, Rudy, would do a flying retrieve with as much enthusiasm as a dog after a ball. He would beg to play fetch by going to the drawer where he knew the toys were.

I am very interested in parrot education. We all know about Alex, and how much he learned. I think we have a lot to learn from our little dinosaur descendants and their adaptable brains. If and when I get another parrot, I'd like to give it an environment in which it can learn to think and communicate to the best of it's abilities. I hope to get some ideas from this forum.

I came here after accidentally finding Michael's video of training his bird to accept a harness, which I think is pretty impressive. I also appreciate Michael's free information exchange, so we can all help each other understand more.

I am considering adding a Blue Crowned Conure to my flock, and pretending it's a pyrrhura. They seem to share some of the traits I like about pyrrhura's.

If you haven't had enough yet, you can visit my website http://www.pyrrhuraphile.ca or see my videos on my pyrrhuraphile YouTube channel.
pyrrhuraphile
Lovebird

Number of Birds Owned: 2
Types of Birds Owned: Green Cheeked Conure, Blue Crowned Conure
Flight: Yes

Re: Hello from BC, Canada

Postby Mr.Darcy » Sat Aug 21, 2010 9:49 pm