Trained Parrot BlogParrot Wizard Online Parrot Toy StoreThe Parrot Forum

What temperature do you keep your house?

Bird rooms, aviaries, cages, foraging trees, play gyms, and stands. Discuss your parrot's locations and perches.

What temperature do you keep your house?

Postby ValleybNY » Wed Oct 05, 2011 12:50 pm

OK so i have a new baby Cape Parrot named Nigel, and he is my first avian baby ever! so I'm REALLY new at this, so please bare with me.
The season is starting to change here in Northern Virginia and some days its chilly and others are not (thats an understatement!) So I have the thermostat set at 70 degrees Fahrenheit (which is about 21 degrees Celsius for those of you across the pond) Is that ok? can I drop it to 68 to save some energy or is that too cold?
Thanks!
ValleybNY
Parrotlet

Number of Birds Owned: 1
Types of Birds Owned: Cape Parrot
Flight: No

Re: What temperature do you keep your house?

Postby Michael » Wed Oct 05, 2011 1:52 pm

It's not a problem whether the temperature is 90 or 50 for a Cape Parrot. The important thing is that the changes are gradual. I wouldn't put a house bird strictly used to 75 degrees straight outside on a 50 degree day. My Cape goes outside most days so I'll continue putting him outside down to the upper 40s. But he slowly acclimatizes from the 100 degree heat of the summer down to the 40 degree cold of autumn.